A Quick Introduction To My Blog

Becoming a software engineer was not something I initially planned for. After several years of school for engineering, I decided to leave and ended up working at the world-famous Pike Place Fish market in Seattle. It took a knee injury taking me off my feet for several months to motivate me to truly start coding.

I first got interested in programming in high school when I took a computer science course. Although I found it challenging, I was intrigued by the logic and problem-solving aspects of writing code as well as the idea of constant change, growth, development and advancement that surrounds the software development/engineering industry. Learning to code is a journey I have only recently started again and it is far from easy. Staying motivated and not getting discouraged when my code doesn't work, trying to find the cause of errors and teaching myself new material. However, I find that the more I practiced, the easier it becomes, and I am coming to enjoy the process.

I am looking forward to continuing my coding journey and sharing my progress along the way. If you had asked me at the beginning of this year if, three weeks into a coding bootcamp I would be well on my way to creating my first function single-page web application, I wouldn't have believed it was possible as from the outside the material seems so unapproachable. Yet here I am writing my (edited) blog post after spending a day working on and polishing that very thing. I look forward to seeing where my journey into software engineering takes me.